Grotesques

When I was about three or four, and stayed up to watch some movie on late night TV.  The movie was called Visage, and it was about this 17th century painter who would paint his subjects by reflecting their faces through a series of mirrors.  By adjusting the angles of the different mirrors, he could distort the faces in a variety of different ways.  The movie opened with a montage of these distorted-face paintings.  Some had one eye.  Some had gaping, twisted mouths.  They were all quite revolting and disturbing.  Thinking back on that night, it dawned on me that this was why I had frequently had nightmares about seeing a movie with disturbing faces in it.  It was all drawing on this memory of this movie I had seen as a child.

14 thoughts on “Grotesques

  1. Now are you glad you stayed to watch that movie because you now have such rich dream images or are you ticked that your parents or whoever was supervising you allowed you to view such scary stuff?

    Like

  2. Well, none of that really happened actually. That movie doesn't exist as far as I know.

    However, I did see some stuff that scared the crap out of me when I was a kid, and did leave a strong impression on me. So I guess there is some truth to it.

    Like

  3. I remember seeing the movie “Magic” about a ventriloquist whose dummy takes over his mind and kills people. Or something like that. Left me afraid of ventriloquist dummies and large dolls in particular. That still sticks with me. Don't want to be left alone in a room with any of them creepy things. Brr!

    Like

  4. “Deep Seated Neuroses” That sounds comfortable. My neuroses are seated on fragile wicker chairs that can collapse at any minute, so they're always shallowly perched on the edge ready to spring into action.

    Like

Leave a Reply

