An Affair to Forget

It was a rainy night.  I was talking to my wife before heading out the door for work.  I told her that a co-worker of mine had mentioned someone she might know, some guy named Greg Roland who delivered food to some restaurant that she used to work at.  She said that she didn’t know the guy, but I could see that she had gotten this wistful, dreamy smile on her face when I had mentioned his name.  I knew she was lying.  I pressed her on it, but she kept denying it.

I had to get to work.  I was running late, so I figured that we’d pick up the conversation later.  But just as I was about to head out the door, my brother popped up out of nowhere.  He asked if anything was wrong.  I told him that there wasn’t, but he insisted that he knew better.  “What, were you listening at the door?”, I asked him.  He confessed that he had been, so I broke down and explained the situation to him.  We went to one of the back rooms of the house, where for some reason I had an old copy of this Greg’s journal packed away.  We flipped through it, looking for some kind of evidence.  I found an entry from a few years back.  He spoke of a woman; he used a different name, but somehow I knew that he was talking about my wife.

I took the journal to show it to my wife.  I found her in the living room, talking on the phone.  I asked her who she was talking to, and she said, “That was Greg!  He’s coming over to pick me up.”  And before I even had a chance to ask any questions, she ran out of the house and into the rain.  I stood on the porch and watched her go.  The rain dripped from the gutters.  It was the worst night of my life.

I don’t know if I called him or he called me, but somehow I ended up on the phone with this Greg.  At first I tried to be calm and reasonable about the whole thing.  I told him that I understood that my wife was free to make her own choices, and if this was what she thought would make her happy…  Then he cut me off and said, “I guess it’s nice to have religion, dude.” in the most cocky, patronizing, smart-ass voice that you could ever imagine.  From there it was just one button pushed after another.  I ended up telling him that if I ever got a hold of him I was going to reach up his asshole and tear his throat out.  I was screaming at the top of my lungs at that point, and all red in the face.  I’m pretty sure he hung up after that, leaving me holding the phone.  What was I going to do now?

6 thoughts on “An Affair to Forget

  1. But just as I was about to head out the door, my brother popped up out of no where.

    How do you know he wasn’t somewhere and you just didn’t see him?

    That was a depressing dream. I had more to say about the whole affair, but I forgot where I was going with it before I could get it out. I will go ahead and tell you as much as I remember, just for the sake of thoroughness:

    I think you should have run after your wife and explained

    Like

  2. Ugh. I wonder what the magical dream remedy would have been, had you been able to center yourself enough to find it? Lovesick anteaters and tapered white candles are out. Those are for basement troubles. Turning yourself into a plum and rolling away only works when faced with small, evil cartoon wizards…

    Maybe you just needed to change your name to Greg? Or pull an umbrella out of your pocket and go after her in the rain?

    Silliness in the face of this difficult dream, because frankly I can't stand having dreams like this. They stay with me for far too long. Hope you've been able to shake it.

    Have you come up with any kind of interpretation for yourself yet?

    Like

  3. It really did upset me quite a bit, but the feeling passed quickly enough, fortunately. (I'll have to remember your tips ;D )

    As for interpretation, hmmm…that's a tough one. The idea of the dream is straightforward enough, buy as to WHY I would dream such a thing… I don't have a clue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

