The Red Convertible

I was flipping through the channels when some news footage from the local traffic helicopter caught my attention. I saw myself, driving down the highway in my white car in the middle of rush hour traffic. The camera panned back to focus on a red convertible sports car that was speeding along, weaving from lane to lane, whipping around all the other cars like they were standing still. The camera tracked this red convertible until it came flying up behind my car, nearly hitting me. The car swooped around me into an opening in the lane to the left of me, and then it shot back into the lane in front of me in the narrowing gap between the front of my car and the rear end of a car in the lane ahead of it. It was only by grace of the fact that I slammed on my brakes that the car was able to get in front of me without taking out a huge chunk of my fender.

The news footage highlighted this encounter. They showed it again in slow motion, this time freezing on the moment that the car slipped in front of me and drawing a big circle on the monitor at the point where our cars nearly collided. A pair of commentators discussed this event as though it were the game winning touchdown. One of them drew an arrow on the monitor pointing to my brake lights, rightly giving me credit for preventing the accident. I remembered this incident. At the time it had just been a passing annoyance, forgotten five minutes after it happened. But now, having seen a broader view of the incident, having seen what a general menace the red convertible had been to everyone on the road, and not just me, and also just feeling generally impressed that the news had considered the incident important enough to commit an entire prime time segment to it, I felt much more righteously outraged about the whole thing.

I felt the need to vent this outrage somehow. Whenever anyone came over, I tried to show them the footage. But they would get fidgety and say that they had to leave. I took the TV with me when I went to visit friends. But as soon as I went to plug it in, they would start making excuses. They had to get up in the morning. They weren’t feeling well. Someone had to walk the dog. And so on. No one cared about seeing the footage. They didn’t care that this reckless maniac was still out there. They didn’t care that I had almost gotten into an accident. They didn’t even care that the event had been convered by the news! I was just left holding the plug, watching as a series of increasingly indifferent people left the room.

The frustration of not being able to show anyone this footage started to wear me down. I let myself go. I stopped showering. I stopped trimming my hair and my beard. I lost my job. I got kicked out of my home. I started to spend all my time riding the city bus with the TV in my lap. Whenever someone sat across from me, I would tap on the blank screen of the unplugged TV, grumbling and mumbling, “See there? He didn’t even care that he almost hit me! He didn’t even slow down.” Eventually, the person across from me would nod, look this way and that, and then get up and find another seat. I would just hug the TV close and go on mumbling to it.

One day at dusk, I was down at the dump, picking through the trash heaps there, looking for scraps of food or for something I could sell or salvage. I had my TV with me, tucked under one arm, and I sorted through the garbage with my free hand. I saw some birds circling in the darkening sky a few heaps away. I figured that they must have found something good. I started to make my way over there, climbing to the top of the heap that I had been picking through. I was just about to scramble over the top when the loose cord of the TV caught on a wooden pallet that was lying on the heap. The stuck cord jerked me back and it yanked the TV out from under my arm. I tried to grab it, but it tumbled down the heap and hit the ground with a hard punch, shattering into pieces.

My heart gripped. My mouth and jaw worked without sound for a moment as I looked down at the wreckage. And then a terrible sick moan issued from the pit of my stomach and filled the dumping grounds. I clambered down, scooping up the broken pieces of glass and metal in my gnarled hands. I just kept crying, “No! No!” as I tried to cram the TV back into being by grinding the pieces between my fists. But then I looked up at the birds, still circling. A tear cooled on my cheek. I began to laugh and laugh. It was over! I was free.

6 thoughts on “The Red Convertible

  1. You have probably gotten sick of hearing this over the years… but I really, really like the way you write!
    I’m glad you felt free at the end. That’s exactly what, I wished for you in your previous dream.
    Thank You for writing this… must be angel inspired.
    On day after Easter my daughter & son-in-law were taking, our 4 little grandchildren to spend the Easter money we sent them. The kids had been looking forward to it all day. They were just about there. Stopped at a red light when they were rammed from behind by a truck. No skid marks. The guy was texting on his cell phone & didn’t even attempt to slow down as he approached the intersection. Everyone was properly buckled in, so they all lived. Injuries ranging from minor to serious. The two oldest grandkids (ages 9 & 4) were in the backseat. They were injured the worst. The youngest (7 months old) was properly positioned facing backwards when her car seat flipped… otherwise she would had been decapitated. Thankfully, she only received a minor shoulder strap injury.
    And the two year… well, he really likes fire trucks & the EMT who treated him in the ambulance is a big fan of Batman, too… so to hear him talk it was the best day of his life. Daughter and son-in-law were bruised on their sides. If they hadn’t had their belts on, they would have ended up on the pavement.
    How does that saying go.. Hell hath seen no fury like that of a mother and grandmother’s scorn. That’s been me. Anger doesn’t even begin to describe it.
    Sent you a pic of the crash scene, because I’m so lousy with words. I just wanted, you to know how accurate and honest your emotions are in this dream.
    Also, the title “Red Corvette” seems like more than a coincidence to me. I just rented a movie last night at the video store called “Jane Mansfield’s Car”. Maybe I should follow your lead & smash my t.v. to smithereens instead.
    Ooo & another thing… right before I came here, I was over at, A Wayfarer’s Notes looking for something good to read. Randomly clicked on this post (another angel whisper…just what I needed)

    Why we do what we do


    It’s all just “ephemeral and meaningless vibrations”. This anger I feel towards that driver who was texting and walked away without a scratch will pass. It will pass only because they lived. If they had died… who knows what I what have done to him.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thankfully, they’re all alright. Unfortunately texting and driving continues to be a real problem, despite an abundant amount of knowledge about how dangerous it is (which really should be common sense, anyway. Why would anyone think that it’s a good idea to type messages on a litle screen while they’re flying down the road?) I really, really don’t understand how and why people continue to be so careless about their driving. But again, I’m glad your family and your grandkids are alright.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In a way I’m envious of this dream,the way it makes a coherent tale out of a monotonous obsession. When we arrived for our current trip to Jamaica, the accommodation we’d booked in advance was nowhere to be found.we’d been travelling for 14 hours and ended on the street at night without assistance. It was scary and of course infuriating,but I’m no good at anger. We found somewhere of course, a lousy ripoff hotel but I slept with meaningless repetitive dreams and a pervading sense of insecurity and mistrust. Ephemeral & meaningless vibrations indeed! And a challenge to my vaunted notion that all can be blessing. Something to work on.

    Excellent post and comment by Cindy – as for the latter i was shocked to hear of the accident, and feel for you in this emotional shakeup. We can’t help these reactions but it’s hard to get over them

    Liked by 2 people

    • I have that happen sometimes too — dreams that are frustratingly repetitive to the point of being nauseating. And yeah, it seems to happen a lot when I’m in a hotel or some unfamiliar place where I don’t feel entirely comfortable.

      Like

  4. It wasn’t till I read your piece out loud to Karleen that we saw how funny it is: a real performance! When I read it the first time it touched a nerve, but there is catharsis in laughter and you hit that spot brilliantly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I thought it was funny too. Wasn’t sure if that came through. Sometimes the sheer absurdity of these dreams makes me shake my head and laugh. And sometimes I take the absurdity and run with it — as I did here.

      Like

Leave a comment